Recent Reads… February

Standard

I have been ploughing through Bradford Libraries collection since I got back from travelling. Getting an Android Phone, combined with having alot of free time (not anymore!) Meant that I was ordering books in whenever I spotted one I fancied and at one point I had a real backlog of books to get through!

So my recent highlights well worth adding to your list are as follows (with 5 word review…. i know you are all busy!):

  1. Notes From an Exhibition – Patrick Gale – touching, quirky with Hepworth reference
  2. Blueeyed Boy – Joanne Harris – totally, astonishingly original and creepy
  3. Pigeon English – Stephan Kelman – as good as Booker gets
  4. Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro – gentle dystopia with a twist
  5. The Chrysalids – John Wyndham – tough dystopia, hint of orwell
  6. Under The Dome – Stephen King – violent, frustrating and very loooooong
  7. Girl on the Landing  – Paul Torday – a portrait of reality lost
  8. Canal Dreams – Iain Banks – dark, powerful – Banks at Best
  9. The Boat – Nam Le – short stories at their best
  10. The Carhullan Army – Sarah Hall – bleak British study of community

And ones on my list to get when my pile goes down a little are:

  1. Jude in London – Julian Gough
  2. Bed – David Whitehouse
  3. Love in the Time of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  4. Ready Player One – Ernest Cline
  5. Carnivore’s Enquiries – Sabina Murray

Any ideas which I should go for first?

Leave a Reply

