Hidden Gem: Horton Bank Country Park

Standard

Wow… its been a while since I have blogged. Where has the time disappeared to? I have had lots going on (more on that soon) so been a little distracted from writing and I have really missed it. Hope you have missed me too!

So I thought I would kick back off with a bit of Bradford love. In the wake of the Olympic Torch, Jubilee Weekends and general love-in with City Park, I have neglected my immediate area a little bit. You can read about the fantastic Miss Penny’s and the unimitable Cannon Mills in previous blogs, but this is something a little greener and very surprising for this area of Bradford.

At the top of Great Horton Hill, where the road turns off towards Shelf, there is a small paddock with horses and a Doctor’s surgery – you could be forgiven for thinking that there is a tip behind them (see council sign below), when actually there is a bit of an oasis hiding!

horton bank country park sign

How enchanting

Horton Country Park was previously a quarry and a reservoir but is now a lovely park with a pleasant lake and walks around a few hillocks, plus places to sit and relax and a view over the gold club and out over Bradford.

horton Bank country park lake

The lovely lake

horton bank country park view

Green and lovely

It is well worth a stop if you are passing by and if you live locally, its right on your doorstep. I think Bradford should be proud of its parks….we just really really need to get some bins installed. Great Horton Park, which is a stunning place to have a stroll around, is marred with heaps of rubbish and only about 2 bins to put waste in. We always end up picking it up as we go around, but it doesn’t seem to make much of a difference.

Anyway, rant over 🙂 If you want to find out more about parks in Bradford, go to www.bradforddistrictparks.org My next spot to visit is St Ives Estate Country Park near Bingley – which has a sculpture trail!

BrilliantBradford Button

6 responses »

  1. Hi Dinky Thinks,

    Good to have you back!

    Hidden gem indeed! I wonder how many other parks there are in & around Bradford which go unnoticed and not used to their fullest?

    I was in Huddersfield on Sunday morning to watch the Olympic Torch pass by. Once it had zipped past us we headed into Greenhead Park to see what was going on. It\’s been a while since I last went to the park and things have improved dramatically. The last time I ventured in there was about 3 years back when it used to be the venue for the Huddersfield Race for Life. Some vast improvements have been made since then and what a wonderful place it is not – perfect for a Sunday stroll or picnic. We even sat in deck chairs and listened to the brass band – it was wonderful!

    We should make more use of our local parks – think I\’ll go feed the ducks this Sunday!

  2. It has been some time since I have been in there, good to see it full of life. I am pretty sure the lake area was a bit barren on my last visit but all in all a great stop off.

    I suggest for all to cycle here, enjoy, then keep going up on your way to Ogden.

    Sounds like a great day to me!

  3. I get the 576 bus to Bradford most days and after 6 month I have only just noticed the sign that mentions the park!! I have done a little googling (and thus stumbled upon this blog!) and will have to go and have a look during the Summer with the kids. So unassuming, it’s crazy I never noticed it until now!

Leave a Reply

