Baby Free…

Standard

socks

So after 6 months of mummy-hood, I finally had a proper full afternoon all to myself. Well actually I had a whole day when I was at Britmums Live… but that was kind of working (lies through her teeth as she remembers how much fun it was and just how much cake was consumed) Ahem!

The Boy took Chiplet out visiting for the afternoon and I tried to think about what I used to do before my world was turned topsy turvy by my gorgeous little bundle. I do still get to swim once a week when the grandparents have Chiplet, but otherwise it is mostly me and him, or me and The Boy or all three of us.

I decided that cooking something from scratch was definitely on the agenda so I meandered around the local market buying ingredients for my chosen meal and then walked home with music on my mp3 player.

I got into the quiet house, left the cat meowing outside and just got into bed with a cup of tea and a book… then promptly fell asleep for 2 hours. I then felt worse than I had to start with…. something about day napping makes me feel hungover… but I managed to get back to normal after a couple more cups of tea.

I cooked some delicious pork ribs with orange and potatoes from Piri Piri Starfish, by Tessa Kiros – an excellent cook book, highly recommended and then just sat in the garden with my book.

cooking

I found myself watching the road to see the boys arrive back and was ready for a big cuddle, but my god was it good to have some independence. I am not sure whether I can put it all back on the fact that I have exclusively breastfed Chiplet, I would imagine plenty of mummies have felt the same at some point. I love my little boy, but with my OH working full time, I have had pretty much every midweek bath and post bath tantrum for 6 months and I am happy to share some of that out once he is not working for a couple of months over the summer.

Do you remember your first baby-free day/afternoon/hour?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

