Easy Mid-week Salmon Noodle Stir Fry

Standard

“Why don’t we ever have noodles”, my hubbie moaned the other day…. Well I never really bother to buy them and I do the shopping list, so they were just not really on my radar as a meal option.

 

However, last weekend, Chipet and I headed to Bradford  Indoor Market for a spot of shopping and stopped for lunch at Noodle Bar (http://whatworkswell.schoolfoodplan.com/articles/category/33/learning-to-cook)  this little place charges just £1.80 for veg fried noodles, which were just enough for me and the little man and he loved them!

 

So I tried out this simple chuck it together idea at home earlier this week…

 

Mid-Week  Easy Salmon Noodle Stir-Fry.

salmon

Ingredients:

  • 2 salmon fillets
  • 1 tsp fish sauce
  • 2 tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • handful frozen peas
  • handful frozen sweetcorn
  • half a red onion – chopped
  • mixed peppers – sliced
  • 1 red chilli
  • handful fresh coriander – chopped
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • pack of straight to wok noodles

 

Method

  1. Cook your salmon. I popped mine in the oven at Gas 5 for 20 mins.
  2. Mix the fish sauce, soy and sugar – add half the chopped chilli.
  3. When the salmon is cooked cut it into 1 inch cubes and marinate it briefly in the soy, sugar, fish sauce mix.
  4. Heat the sesame oil in a wok then add the onion and allow it to soften.
  5. Add the peppers, peas and sweetcorn – or whatever veg you fancy.
  6. Then add the salmon and stir fry until heated through.
  7. Finally add the noodles for the last minute and stir the fresh coriander through.
  8. Serve and enjoy

I actually used scotch bonnet chillis and this was flipping hot! – way too much chilli in it for Chiplet, but I will try it again next week with less chilli.

As with most meals in our house, I had hoped for some  leftovers for my lunch the next day – but it was too delicious and we were too hungry to keep any back!

Leave a Reply

