Snug as a Bug (what we’re reading)

Standard

I may have (numerous) failings as a parent, but teaching my child to love books will not be one of them. I have devoured books since I could almost see (slight exaggeration) and I want to instill the same love in Chiplet. I wrote back in July about breeding a bookworm and I am thrilled to relate back that my little boy loves books.

He will go a pick up a book and then climb into my lap and sit happily whilst I read whatever he has chosen. I must admit to getting a lump in my throat everything he looks up at me happy to be read to. Recently he has started identifying things on the page which is just amazing. The biggest shock to me however was his ability to pick the right book from a pile of 10 when I explain which one he should bring to me.

At nursery, he apparently spend much of the day bringing books to the staff and likes to sit on the book trolley as if he owns it… adorable!

whatwearereadingjune

So what are we reading at the moment then? At bedtime, it’s all about Snug as a Bug (which has overtaken The Snail and The Whale) This was a present for Chiplet’s birthday and it sits on a high shelf – so it doesn’t go the way of The Snail and The Whale (well battered). It tells the story of George and his mum who head to the park. She tells him how warm and toasty he will be in his coat by relaying some great descriptions – such as a toasty as ‘ten geese all wrapped up in one fleece’. When George gets excitable at the park he takes his coat off – heading towards a possibility as being as cold as ‘four polar bears with tears in their flares’.

Chiplet likes this book as it is rhythmic and has great illustrations and I love it because it calms him down and he snuggles right into me when I read it – then snorts like a pig at the end when he sees the ‘three pigs in big purple wigs’ on the back page.

Linking up to lovely Carie at Space for the Butterflies – What we are Reading. Pop over there and share what you are reading

whatwearereading

5 responses »

  1. Oh what a gorgeous looking book, and I’m a complete sucker for some good rhymes so I’ll have to look out for this – thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. I can completely relate to getting a lump in the throat! Passing on a love of reading is one of the best gifts you can give a child.

    This looks like a book Bubs would love. Our book wishlist is getting longer every week!

  3. Pingback: Speed Talker | Dinky Thinks

Leave a Reply

