A Treat at Russell Eaton

Standard

re capp

I was asked recently to review some treatments at Russell Eaton, a city centre salon in Leeds. I had missed out recently on an invitation to have a Nioxin hair treatment and was quite jealous when I read about Clare from What Elsa Wears and Michelle from The Crowther Clan‘s experiences. I decided to make this treat into a full on ‘Mummy Day’ and after dropping Chiplet at nursery, I headed over to Leeds and Russell Eaton. I drove because I had a load of errands to do on the way home, but I reckon a train into the city would be the best option as they are just so central and easy to find.

 

First treatment was the Refresh Pedicure. I was taken down into the very ‘zen’ and relaxing spa which is in the lower ground floor of  the salon. It’s all dark and calm and I sat listening to the music and enjoying a sparkling water and the latest gossip mags.   Rachel did my pedicure and it was the first time I have had my feet done since a chiropodist back in September 2013. I was pleased to hear that they were in fairly good condition and I decided to opt for a tangerine polish – as its something I don’t have in my polish collection at home. The finished effect was lovely, but I would have liked a bit more massage and treatment of my feet – I think perhaps the Spa Pedicure might have been more up my street as it features a foot masque. re collage 2 I was given some temp foam flip flops so my toes could dry whilst I went upstairs for my Express Hair Bar. This is a treatment is pegged as a 30 minute slot in which you can get fabulous hair for any occasion – it includes a wash and head massage. I had the lovely Steph as my stylist, who was all prepared for my request of an up-do, until I realised that I wanted some tips about how to make my hair more interesting when it is down. She asked me about how I like to style my hair (as quickly as possible), whether I own any styling equipment (yes, paddle GHDs) and whether I like to use products (just hairspray really). She then suggested a style which would fit with that. She rough blow dried my hair and then used paddle GHDs to bend the ends into curls, which could then be roughed up and sprayed. I felt like she really thought about whether I could recreate the look myself – which I had asked for. I think they could equally do something totally special that you could never recreate yourself – and it was done in just over 30 minutes which was great. re collage 1 I loved the finished effect and so did Hubbie when I went to meet him for lunch at Pizza Express (less express sadly than snail-like and a little cold). Not sure why I look so depressed in the first pic – probably not enjoying doing a selfie in a busy salon with a bad side bun.

I have tried to recreate the look myself this morning as you  can see:

re new hair

I thought Russell Eaton was a lovely experience – with a coffe-shop standard cappucinno and really friendly staff. I would heartily recommend it. You can find out more about Russell Eaton on their website Facebook or Twitter

sig1

I was given both treatments free of charge for the purposes of this review, but all opinions are my own. 

 

Leave a Reply

