Kerala on a Plate – Tharavadu Restaurant

Standard

One of my favourite places in India was Kerala, you only have to read a few of my blogs at tattybackpacks.wordpresss.com to see that. The area is a fantastic mix of the craziness that India presents and the languid loveliness that it can also offer.

When I was given the chance to review the fairly new Tharavadu Restaurant in Leeds, my mouth was watering at the prospect. The menu was an impossible list of deliciousness and I gave up even trying to decide what I might have before I got there.

The restaurant is located a stone’s throw from the train station and the main shopping area in Leeds. It is also rather handily right next to the widely acclaimed Scarborough Taps (also known as Scarborough Hotel) real ale pub and Bundobust the new craft beer bar that also sells Indian street food – creating a rather vibrant little corner of Leeds.

My friend Angela and I were greeted by the lovely staff at Thravadu, including Manager Sibi, enthusiastic and passionate about India and Keralan food. We asked for help because we actually wanted everything on the menu which was not going to end well.

newtharavaducollage1

For starters we opted for Dahi Battatta Puri and Chemmem Rasi which we just a nice amount to share. There were sadly 3 prawns which resulted in near fisticuffs to finish off the delcious fragrant sauce, but with six little Christmas-pudding-like puri, we just about remained friends for the main course.

tharavaducollage2

For main course we were a little piggy and had Crab Thoran, Alleppy Fish Curry, Vazhuthannanga (Aubergine) curry then some Idli and Lemon Rice on the side. All of these dishes were exemplary and served beautfully. If I had to choose a favourite, then it would be dipping idli into the creamy and nutty aubergine curry – but the Crab Thoran was fresh and spicy – delicious.

tharavaducollage3

Dessert was almost impossible, but after a small break we headed into it with gusto. My friend Angela chose Vattayapam Steamed rice cake stuffed with toffee topped with chocolate sauce and served with Vanila ice cream – which put my Jaggery Dosa firmly in the shade – I mean the dosa might have been delicious, but it just couldn”t stand up against the amazingly melt in the mouth gorgeousness of the toffee cake.

I couldn’t fault any of the meal at all and it was pretty busy the entire time we were there. The food and welcome is epic and your tastebuds deserve it – so get in quick, before it becomes impossible to get a table.

sig1

I was given this meal for free, but all opinions, enthusiasms and/or complaints are all my own. 

* images in this post needed no effects – the food looks THAT good!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

