Sleep Regression 23 Months

Standard

sleeping

It’s been a while since I wrote about something ‘baby development’ related. I used to be obsessed with Chiplet’s sleep, feeding and general development – then he hit 12 months and everything just sped up. I feel like I don’t really have time to question anything or worry about whether it is normal.

However, recently his sleep has gone a bit mental and as usual, it’s first stop Twitter to speak to my friends with kiddies the exact same age. Apparently they are all going crazy!

My child has not napped at home since about 14 months old – although he does still nap at nursery 2 days a week and always naps in the car. All of a sudden he will fall asleep everywhere! See below for an example.

We put him to bed at 7.00pm and he used to get up at 6.30 but this is now creeping closer to 5.30. So we have invested in the Gro Clock to help with that – which it does with mixed results. I feel like he is way too excited to worry about sleeping most of the time and then he burns himself out.

I wonder if he might embrace a little nap now he is a bit older, but not sure I can face the battle to try and embed it into his routine.

This morning he was up at 5.00am babbling on about Thomas and his friends at the railway and wanting to go downstairs. I stuck to my guns (despite the screamning) and went down at 6.00am, whereby he drank his milk, grumped at his toys and then fell asleep on the floor…. AAARRRRGGGH!

Anyone else relate to this issue at this age for their little one?

sig1

Leave a Reply

